McEwen’s Of Perth
McEwens of Perth has been trading successfully on the same site since March 1868 and can therefore boast having spanned three centuries. It is still an independent family run business, but it is doubtful whether the original Mr. McEwen could have imagined the changes which were to come. The shop, which was originally a single unit, began by satisfying the fashion requirements of Perthshire ladies. In the 1860′s most fashion garments were made to order and once the fabric had been selected, garments were made up in the McEwen’s own tailoring workshop. Look up to the inscription in a first floor window which marks the site of the 15th century Town House and garden (with fountain) of the Bishops of Dunkeld. The old house was demolished in 1821 but the entrance to it from South Street remains as Fountain Close.
Read more information here